Deftones Announce New Album Koi No Yokan, U.S. Tour With Scars On Broadway

View Comments
Big Day Out Festival - Sydney

Deftones have announced their 7th studio album, mysteriously titled Koi No Yokan will hit fans’ iPods on November 13th. It turns out the Japanese phrase refers to a “premonition of love” or the feeling that one gets after just meeting someone, knowing that love is inevitable.

Chino Moreno so often perfectly juxtaposes his lyrics of love with the thick, slow, heavy chords of the band’s signature metal riffs.

Talking about how the band’s heavy guitars meet his often sensual lyrics, Moreno tells EW. “There’s also this lush beauty that flows within everything that we do, and that’s my favorite part of the band. To me, it’s the epitome of what the Deftones do.”

The band’s fall headlining tour will feature fellow Californians, Scars On Broadway. The first stop of the tour is slated for the Epicenter Festival in Irvine, CA, which featues a lineup including Stone Temple Pilots, Bush, Chevelle, Hollywood Undead, Escape The Fate, Dead Sara, Crash Kings and more.

Presale tickets will be available Tuesday, 9/4/12 at 12pm PT via Ticketmaster.

Sat 9/22/12            Irvine, Ca. – Epicenter Festival
Tue 10/9/12            Ventura Theatre – Ventura, CA
Wed 10/10/12         Warfield – San Francisco, CA
Fri 10/12/12            Roseland Ballroom – Portland, OR
Sat 10/13/12           Showbox, SODO – Seattle, WA
Sun 10/14/12          Commodore – Vancouver, BC
Tue 10/16/12          Knitting Factory – Boise, ID
Wed 10/17/12         In The Venue – Salt Lake City, UT
Fri 10/19/12            Fillmore Auditorium – Denver, CO
Sat 10/20/12           Harrah’s – Kansas City, MO
Sun 10/21/12          Blue Note – Columbia, MO
Tue 10/23/12          Aragon Ballroom – Chicago, IL
Wed 10/24/12         Royal Oak Music Theatre – Royal Oak, MI
Fri 10/26/12            Rams Head Live – Baltimore, MD
Sun 10/28/12          The Electric Factory – Philadelphia, PA
Mon 10/29/12         House of Blues – Boston, MA
Tue 10/30/12          Terminal 5 – New York, NY.

– Jay Tilles, CBS Local

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers