Soundgarden Release Details For ‘King Animal,’ The Band’s First Studio Album In 16 Years

The last time Soundgarden released an album, Alanis Morissette had just won the Album of the Year Grammy for Jagged Little Pill, iTunes didn’t exist yet and both Tupac Shakur and Bradley Nowell of Sublime were still alive (although Nowell would succumb to a heroin overdose just 4 days after the May 21, 1996 release of Soundgarden’s Down on the Upside).

Obviously a lot has changed in music since Soundgarden was among the biggest rock bands in the world. On November 13, members Chris Cornell, Kim Thayil, Matt Cameron and Ben Shepard will re-enter the record industry fray with the release of their sixth studio album, King Animal, Soundgarden’s  first collection of new material since Down on the Upside.

To announce the album’s imminent release, Soundgarden has revealed the King Animal cover art, track listing and an ominous, wintery video trailer that incorporates the new imagery and music.

According to a press release, the band co-produced the album with longtime producer Adam Kasper (also known for his work with Nirvana, Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters), recording the tracks at Studio X in Seattle.

Soundgarden first reunited in 2010, releasing the retrospective compilation Telephantasm and a live album (Live on the I-5) and going on a world tour as well as producing new song “Live to Rise” for the Marvel Comics movie The Avengers, which went on to hit Number 1 on Modern Rock chart.

The track listing for King Animal:

  1. Been Away Too Long
  2. Non-State Actor
  3. By Crooked Steps
  4. A Thousand Days Before
  5. Blood On The Valley Floor
  6. Bones of Birds
  7. Taree
  8. Attrition
  9. Black Saturday
  10. Halfway There
  11. Worse Dreams
  12. Eyelid’s Mouth
  13. 13. Rowing

–Scott T. Sterling, CBS Local


More From HFS at 104.9 - Baltimore's Rock Alternative

HFS Contests!
Sign Up!

Listen Live